The Wayback Machine - http://web.archive.org/web/20260223092712/https://tech.yahoo.com/apps/articles/see-shared-album-invite-iphone-150000102.html
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Lifewire

See a Shared Album Invite on Your iPhone? Here's What to Do

Find shared photos and videos waiting inside the Photos app

Sam Costello
Igor Suka / E+ / Getty Images

Igor Suka / E+ / Getty Images

The Download

  • Join a shared album invitation: Tap the Shared Albums notification and then choose Accept.

  • Leave a shared album: Photos > Collections > Shared Albums > Shared > three dots > Unsubscribe.

This article explains how to accept a shared album invitation on the iPhone. You can create shared albums yourself, but to enjoy those created by other people, you have to accept an invitation.

How to Accept a Shared Album Invitation on iPhone

Ready to join an album someone shared with you? Follow these steps:

Expert Tip: Note

You need to have Shared Albums enabled from Settings > Apps > Photos > Shared Albums to accept invitations.

Tap the Shared Albums alert on your phone. This should have been sent to your phone (visible in the Notification Center) moments after they shared the album with you.

Expert Tip: Tip

Don't see the notification? Check your email for the link, or open the Photos app to Collections > Albums > Shared.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Open the Activity tab if it's not already in focus.

Select Accept next to the album invitation. Albums shared with you are stored here: Photos > Collections > Albums > Shared.

Image

Expert Tip: Tip

Once you've accepted a shared album invitation, you can control how you see the photos in the album. Open the album and then tap the three lines at the bottom to find sort and filter options.

How to Leave a Shared Photo Album on iPhone

If you've decided you no longer want to be part of a shared album, you can remove yourself from it, which will make it disappear from your phone. Here's how:

Open the Photos app.

Tap Collections > Shared Albums.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Open the Shared tab and then tap the album you want to leave.

Tap the three dots at the top of the album.

Tap Unsubscribe. Tap it again to confirm.

Image

Expert Tip: Tip

Don't want to leave a shared album, but annoyed by notifications when new photos or other changes are made?

To turn off notifications for an album, open it and tap the three dots at the top, followed by the album name. Tap the Notifications slider to switch it off.

Related: How to Transfer Photos From iPhone to iPhone

Frequently asked Questions

How do I create a shared album on iPhone?

To create a shared album on iPhone, you must first go to Settings > Apple Account > iCloud > Photos and enable Shared Albums. Then, in Photos, go to Collections > Shared Albums and tap the plus icon. Add some photos and give it a name, and then use the Add Participants button to pick who to share it with.

How do I save shared photos to an album on iPhone?

To save shared photos to your iPhone, select the photo and tap Share > Save Image. You can also choose to use the image as wallpaper, share it with someone else, copy the photo, or print it.

How do I delete a shared album on iPhone?

Only owners can delete a shared album on iPhone. Open the album and tap the more icon > Delete Shared Album. The album will also be removed from your other devices. All photos will be permanently deleted, so ensure you save any photos you want.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Read the original article on Lifewire

Advertisement
Advertisement