I'm both a regular iPhone user and a longtime advocate for VPNs, but even I sometimes find it useful to turn off my iPhone VPN. Some websites and Wi-Fi networks don't play well with VPNs, and sometimes I'm just doing something innocuous and don't care who sees. In those situations, even if you're using one of the best VPNs, it's helpful to know how to turn it off.
This goes double if you've found a VPN on your iPhone or iPad that you didn't install yourself, or if you've found your VPN turning itself back on when you wanted it to remain off. The good news is that turning VPNs off is almost always simple, especially on iOS. I'll go over three different tricks you can try, none of which take long at all.
Three ways to turn off your iPhone VPN
These steps are ordered from the least to the most intense. First, you can try disconnecting from the VPN in the app. If that doesn't work, you can turn it off in the Settings app. After that, if you're still having problems, try deleting the VPN app entirely.
How to disconnect in the VPN app
This method is the easiest, assuming you know which VPN is currently turned on. Start by tapping that VPN's icon on your home screen. This should bring up the VPN's app interface.

Although this page looks different for every VPN, a well-designed service usually makes it obvious how you're supposed to turn it off. For example, the mobile app for Proton VPN puts a clear Disconnect button in the middle of the screen, while the ExpressVPN iPhone app uses a large button with the universal on/off symbol.
Find your VPN's equivalent of this button and tap it. The interface should make it clear when you've disconnected, but in case it doesn't, you can check the top of your phone screen. If the rectangle that says "VPN" is gone, you have turned your VPN off.
How to turn off the VPN in Settings
You may be seeing the VPN symbol at the top without knowing which VPN is active, or might be dealing with a bad interface that doesn't make it obvious how to disconnect. Luckily, you can also turn a VPN off from iOS’ Settings app. Tap Settings (the big gray gear icon) to open the control panel.
Newer versions of iOS have a VPN option on this menu. If it's there, tap it. If you don't see it, scroll down and hit General, then scroll down again and hit the VPN & Device Management option.

However you get there, this page should show any VPNs you have active. To turn it off, simply tap the VPN Status switch to turn it from Connected to Not Connected. Check the top of your screen to make sure the VPN icon disappears.
How to delete the VPN app altogether
If neither of the above steps work, or you've decided you want this VPN off your phone entirely, you'll have to delete both the app itself and the VPN connection it manages. Deleting the app works like any other — just tap the app and hold, then select Remove App from the dropdown.

Next, check to make sure the VPN profile was also deleted. Get back to the VPN & Device Management page as described in the section above. If you see a configuration for the VPN you just deleted, touch the letter "i" by its name, then scroll to the bottom and touch Delete VPN. That should purge the VPN for good. If you want it back, go back to the App Store to download it and sign in again.
Troubleshooting: When an iPhone VPN turns itself back on
It's frustrating when your VPN seems to keep turning on even though you swear you've shut it off. You're not hallucinating — this really does happen. Here's how to fix it.
The most likely culprit is the VPN app's own settings (provided you didn't delete the app). Many VPNs have a feature that establishes a connection automatically when your phone wakes up, in case you sometimes forget to turn it on yourself. Open the VPN, find its preferences menu — a gear is the universal symbol, likely found in a corner of the UI. Look for a setting with a name like "connect on launch," "auto-connect" or similar. Toggle it off and see if the problem stops.
If it doesn't, try your iOS settings instead. Check the VPN & Device Management page, find the VPN profile that keeps reconnecting and tap the "i" by its name. Turn off the option labeled "connect on demand."
In the rare case that you deleted the VPN and its connection profile and it's still somehow reconnecting itself, it might very well be malware. Use an antivirus app to scan your phone for corrupt files and clean out any persistent traces of the unwanted VPN. If it continues reinstalling itself after that, I recommend contacting a priest.
When should you turn off your iPhone VPN?
The right time to use a VPN is almost every time you get online. Your internet company can spy on you at any time, and your real IP address is nearly always a risk. However, there are a few cases in which it makes sense to disconnect your iPhone from its VPN.
Your phone's battery is low. Running a VPN can drain your charge faster than normal.
You're using a website like an online bank or streaming platform that automatically blocks all VPNs. If your VPN has a split tunneling feature, you can set these sites as exceptions while retaining VPN protection for the rest of the web.
Your VPN connection is slow or unstable. Your best option here is to disconnect, wait a moment and then reconnect. This should put you on a new server without problems.
You're on a Wi-Fi or data connection that's not performing well. As long as it's secure (i.e. not a public Wi-Fi network), try using it without the VPN and see if speeds improve.
How to turn off iCloud Private Relay
iCloud Private Relay is a feature for advanced iCloud subscribers that protects your internet connection while you're using Safari on an iPhone. It's not a VPN, and can often get in the way of a real VPN. Shut it off by going to Settings -> your Apple ID -> iCloud -> Private Relay. You can turn it off indefinitely or just pause it for now.



























